Persistent connection to database

2014-06-26
2014-06-30
  • Andres Gomez Casanova

I am a DB2 DBA, and I have written Nagios plugins to monitor databases. However, I have a problem with connections, because each time a plugin is executed, a connection to the database is established.

If there are too many elements to monitor in the database, there are too many connection, and that impacts the database.

I have thought about creating a DB server-side plugin that keeps the connections open, and it just receives the requests from Nagios server. However, in order to do that, I need to have a daemon on the DB server, and deal with remote requests (NRPE, for example)

I have found your project, and I would like to know if I can create a plugin for DB2, that keeps a connection (or a connection pool) opened to the database.

As far as I have seen, it is possible, because JNRPE is a daemon (JVM), and it can keep a DB connection. However, I want to be sure of that, and that is why I created this forum.

This problem exist for all databases, however the people is not concerned about that. It would be an opportunity for you to provide a solution for this issue.

• Massimiliano Ziccardi

Yes, it is possible,
    However, since JNRPE creates a new instance of the plugin for each execution,
    the only way to achieve that result would be using a static connection pool.

Since we can use the same plugin for different kind of checks, than an idea could be to create e different
    connection pool for each different connection url, do you agree?

Thank you very much!

Regards,
    Massimilinao

• Andres Gomez Casanova

When you say that JNRPE creates a new instance, you mean something like: You instantiate an object via Class.forName, execute a standard method, and then the object should be destroyed by the garbage collector?

About the connection, I have been thinking to use a Class with static method to get the only instance (singleton pattern). Is that a good way to do that?