JGrinder's undocumented features

2002-10-06
2013-04-17
  • Ferdous Khan

Ferdous Khan - 2002-10-06

Hi, I have found JGrinder very useful and easy. But not all features are reflcted in the tutorial. So, my query is:

1) In what circumstance "setAsTransient" is useful ? I mean, why do I need some domain objects not to participate in transaction ?

2) Does JGrinder use any connection pooling (e.g. poolman) technology ?

3) Is it good for banking solution ? Can you name of the areas (requires huge transaction) where it is performing good enough ?

Thanks in advance.

Regards,

Ferdous Khan

• Ashik Uzzaman

Ashik Uzzaman - 2002-10-07

Mr. Ferdous,

I am new to JGrinder. I found the tutorials not useful enough due to wrong codes. So far I could not find any connection pooling mechanism in it though it should be ideally present here. I am alternately planning for OJB from apache. Would you like to have some comment in this regard, specially the facilities JGrinder provides despite its less community support now?

M. Ashikuzzaman

• David Hoag

David Hoag - 2002-10-07

The tutorial is old - I hear some of the other contributors are updating it as I write.

The best way to get started is with the following documents in the "docs" section of this website.

http://sourceforge.net/docman/?group_id=1531

1) setAsTransient is typically used when you want to use a persistent object for non-persistent purposes. Query by example is a common one.  If you don't use setAsTransient, the SQLQuery will still work, by calling setAsTransient itself.
      Another situation is one you want to update many fields. JGrinder tracks changes to objects, and this introduces overhead. If you wish to gain performance you can setAsTransient before doing updates. Just be sure to setAsTransient(false) when you're done (and domainObject.insert()  to make it a part of the current transaction)