Menu

Parsing expression language too

2016-01-14
2016-01-19
  • David Ekholm

David Ekholm - 2016-01-14

Hi, I'm new to Jericho, trying to see it can be a good fit for parsing tbe html template files used by jAlbum (client side web gallery generator). It seems to be the most promising alternative out there, but I need it to also recognize expression language like ${foo.bar} as tags/elements. When trying to register such a type, Jericho complains: java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: startDelimiter of a start tag must start with "<"

I figure, you may not be thilled to allow $ as start delimiter too for performance reasons, but I don't see a practical way to switch to Jericho without support for this. The expression language syntax should be treated like any server tag, like <%= scriptlets %> for instance, i.e. they should be allowed to occur anywhere.

• Martin Jericho

Martin Jericho - 2016-01-15

Hi David,

Yes allowing tags with start characters other than "<" would severely impact performance. But the good news is that it shouldn't really be necessary to integrate the template parsing with the HTML parsing.

The code to search for occurences of "${" and matching "}" in the source document should be trivial. So write your own code to parse the template tokens, then use the library to parse the HTML separately.

If the jAlbum template language allows characters that look like HTML inside the template tokens you can use the Source.ignoreWhenParsing(int begin, int end) method to make sure the HTML parser doesn't interpret anything inside the template tokens as HTML, or simply do your template substitutions first, then parse the resulting HTML document.

Let me know if that approach doesn't work for you.

Cheers
    Martin

• David Ekholm

David Ekholm - 2016-01-15