Menu

WriteMultipleRegistersRequest() with float ?

Help
Ramon
2013-08-08
2015-09-03
  • Ramon

Ramon - 2013-08-08

Hello Fellas,

I am a student of electrical engineering and IT. At the moment I am in a practical phase and I have a project where I need to write a Java program to communicate with a "Siemens Sentron PAC3200" measurement device via modbus tcp. Here comes the problem:

I want to write a value which is stored as float in the device. The devices register I want to write on is two times 16 bits ( = 32 bits ) large. The class WriteMultipleRegistersRequest() needs to get a Register[] as input parameter. I filled this Register[] with two SimpleRegisters(). But a SimpleRegister can not store floats. When I try to execute the program with storing integers instead, I do NOT get a SlaveException or any other exception. The program runs, but the value in the device does not change (I can check that on the devices display).
    I managed to write other registers on this device with this method, despite they stored the value as unsigned long. I am a little bit confused and I have no idea how to solve this. Below u can see my source code for better understanding of my problem. I hope u have any suggestions =)

public class Writer {

/**
     * @param args the command line arguments
     */
    public static void main(String[] args) {
        try {

/**************************************/

//Write Multiple Registers
        int port = Modbus.DEFAULT_PORT; 
        int ref = 50073;                //Register
        int SlaveAddr= 1;               //standart in Modbus
        String astr = "192.168.10.2";   //Modbus Device (Siemens Sentron PAC3200)

int msv = 6;                    //values to be written 
        int lsv = 5;                    // values to be written

Register[] register = new Register[2];  // register for WriteRegisters Class Input
        register [0] = new SimpleRegister(msv); // value for first 2 bytes