Is JaCoP the right solution for this?

Help
Dan Acton
2012-02-10
2013-05-30
  • Dan Acton

Dan Acton - 2012-02-10

Hello, I’ve just started experimenting with JaCoP and have a question about whether JaCoP (and constraint programming in general) is an appropriate solution for a problem I’m trying to solve.

I work in the healthcare informatics industry, and my company is interested in building an “engine” for scheduling radiology exams. For this type of scheduling problem, you can imagine various resources that need to be managed, such as nurses, radiology technicians, imaging devices (e.g. CT scanners), examination rooms, etc. Each of these resource types could have constraints on them, such as when they are available, their capacity, etc. A radiology exam may be broken down into several schedulable steps, each with different resource requirements. For example, an MRI exam may require a nurse to perform an injection, followed by a 15 minute wait, followed by the actual MRI scan performed by a radiology technician on a specific piece of equipment. The most complex type of exam would have 3 or 4 schedulable steps, each with different resource requirements, while the simplest exams would only have a single step with a single resource requirement.

When the exam is scheduled (typically by a referring physician), the goal is to provide to the user a list of available dates/times when the required resources are available, and allow them to choose one. The work day is typically broken up into time increments or slots ranging from 10 to 60 minutes, depending on the site, so the final presentation to the user would be in the form of a matrix of slots that they can choose from. For example (O = slot is open/available; X = slot closed):

Mon      Tue      Wed      Thu      Fri
    09:00     O         O            X          O
    09:15     O         O            X          O
    09:30     X         O            O          X

17:15     O         X            O          O