Menu

Instance creation failing

abcl
2008-07-02
2012-11-29
  • abcl

abcl - 2008-07-02

Hi,
    I am new to j-interop as well as com/dcom , i am facing a problem on createCOMInstance method .
    I am able to communicate with a dll then i am calling a method on it(GetService).
    The code is given below

JIVariant phoneVariant[]=dispatch.callMethodA("GetService",new Object[] {umEmPhoneDevice,voiceServerName,JIVariant.EMPTY});

System.out.println("com ooo===="+phoneVariant[0]);

JIComObjectImpl un=(JIComObjectImpl)phoneVariant[0].getObjectAsComObject(unknown);
            IJIComObject com=un.getCOMObject();  

IJIDispatch disp=(IJIDispatch)JIComFactory.createCOMInstance(JIComFactory.IID_IDispatch,com));

but it is throwing an exception "The requested object does not exist.  [0x80010114]" when createCOMInstance method is called.

Thanks and Regards,
    Rahul

• Vikram Roopchand

Hi,
         Do you want a reference to IDispatch on "com" or is "com" an IDispatch interface itself ?

best regards,
      Vikram

• abcl

abcl - 2008-07-03

Hi ,
        The object which i got from variant is a org.jinterop.dcom.core.JIComObjectImpl object and
        I expect IDispatch from it, when i do .isDispatchSupported() it is returning me false.

I used 2.0 version but when i am ivoking the method on dll it is throwing an exception "An internal error occurred. " and the same thing works in older version of j-interop.

Let me explain the whole problem to you.
        We have 2 dlls
        1. service locator dll
        2. PhoneDevice dll

purpose of service locator is to locate the service(Phone Device Service). Both the dll's are on server .I  am able to connect to the service locator and can call GetService method. Signature of GetService is given below.

IUnknown* GetService(
                        [in] BSTR progid,
                        [in, optional] VARIANT location,
                        [in, optional] VARIANT constraints);

And below is the code that i have written