Question about user name

Babscoole
2007-09-29
2013-03-26
  • Babscoole

Babscoole - 2007-09-29

I was taking a quick look at your program and really like it.  One thing I was wondering though.  When the program starts, in the login user details pop-up, the section labelled as User Name is populated with the machine name.  Wouldn't it be better to populate the field with the name of the currently logged in user?

• GremlinSA

GremlinSA - 2007-11-07

I guess this is a good point... In early development (Win 98 - VB5), it was easier to get the machine name from winsock, rather than add additional code to get the Logged in user name...

I'll add this to the list of future additions...

• Babscoole

Babscoole - 2008-01-30

Thanks.  Figured I'd pop in and see how the program is coming along.

• Babscoole

Babscoole - 2008-02-04

I should preface by saying that I'm not a programmer.  I do use VBScript, but haven't messed with "true" programming since Basic in the late 70's.

I downloaded the free Visual Basic 2008 Express IDE to play with your source code and see what kind of damage I could do.  :)

Began with your VB6 version, but had to track down some ocx files for it to convert.  Once I got those and the project converted, there were dozens of issues, so decided to try out the beta of your .net version.

Changed a couple of lines to get the username thing to work.  In UserInfo.vb, I made Private mvarUserName As String = Environment.UserName.  Also had to add this in Public Sub Load (), mvarUserName =  to make it (rk.Getvalue("UserName", Environment.UserName), String).  I also changed the properties for the User Name box on the login page to Read Only.   

With that done, started doing a little testing with my changes.