Menu

A couple of usage questions

v_ewert
2006-03-07
2012-09-15
  • v_ewert

v_ewert - 2006-03-07

I am interested in using these icons in a project, but have a couple of questions:

1. How do I properly give credit for using the icons?

2. Am I allowed to modify them?

Thanks for you help.

• v_ewert

v_ewert - 2006-03-08

Thanks for your reply. A guess a more basic question might be, am I allowed to use these icons (or ones modified from these) in an OpenSource project? Sorry if this is a dumb question, but I'm a newbie at this OpenSource thing.

• Michael Westbay

Michael Westbay - 2006-03-08

Here is what the original creator of the collection wrote:

--- begin ---
        This is a quick page to preview the icons I am creating for some of my Java(TM) programs. You are free to use them in your programs, but I am retaining Copyright, and they can not be used in any books, CD-ROM's, Web pages, or any other form of image collection without my consent. I ask that if you do use them to drop me some e-mail at dean@gallant.com, also, if a screen shot of your application using these icons is available I will add a link to it from this page. I would please me greatly if you would add a little blurb in something like a ``Help about..'' screen like:

Icons Copyright(C) 1998 by Dean S. Jones
        dean@gallant.com www.gallant.com/icons.htm