#90 Upgrade tip - Db error hint 'upgrade.htm

feature-requests
closed-works-for-me
docs (14)
5
2001-11-28
2001-11-25
R P Herrold
No

In upgrading from older htdig installs, the prior
practice of using '>' to zero the database files
no longer works.

It is now sufficient to remove them -- they are
automatically recreated.

The file 'upgrade.html' should properly note this
'tip'
============================

Discussion

  • Gilles Detillieux

    • assigned_to: nobody --> grdetil
    • status: open --> closed-works-for-me
     
  • Gilles Detillieux

    Logged In: YES
    user_id=149687

    By saying "properly note", are you implying that it
    currently improperly notes this? I find no mention
    in the docs of the "prior" practice of zeroing the files.
    Where did you see this tip, and what error does it
    now cause?

    As far as I can recall, removing database files has
    always been the proper way to ensure they're recreated.
    The upgrade.html file does correctly recommend that
    3.2 not be installed over the same directories as an
    existing 3.1 installation. Removing the old files would
    have the same effect.

     

Log in to post a comment.