set hsqldb.cache_file_scale

Help
G Foster
2012-12-27
2014-01-19
  • G Foster

G Foster - 2012-12-27

Hi!  I am new to java and hsqldb looking into a performance problem with applications that have not been supported internally.  The application creates a properties file for each user that runs the application in C:\Documents and Settings\.  I see the property hsqldb.cache_file_scale=1 and from what I have read I should set this at 8.  But I am very unclear as to how to set it.  I have seen the instructions to run the shutdown script and then issue a command to set property.  But don't know where to start.  I also found a scripthsqldb_create.sql file contained in a jar file in the path C:\DIW\DIW_signed\com\IRI\diw\db\hsqldb where the table is created.  Could I issue the set command here? I have downloaded IntelliJIDEA to help me look at the files I am working with to help to begin to support the applications.  If I can set the property in the sql file can I then just resave the jar file and put it back in the original directory do distributed files?
    Thanks in advance for your assistance.
    geefos

• Fred Toussi

Fred Toussi - 2012-12-27

This property is not related to performance. When the property is 1, It limits the size of the .data file to 2GB. If your files are much smaller than this, then there is no need to change the property.

You can set this property only before any data is inserted into tables.

There may be other issues related to performance. For example CHECKPOINT DEFRAG or SHUTDOWN COMPACTshould be executed periodically (after hundreds of thousands of updates) to clear up the wasted space in the .data file.

• G Foster

G Foster - 2012-12-27