Error: config.dat could not be loaded (Vista)

Help
fs01
2008-08-14
2013-01-20
  • fs01

fs01 - 2008-08-14

Good morning,

(I'm not an expert and Vista's still quite confusing to me. So, sorry to maybe bother you with a very stupid matter)

After installation and running Greenshot successfully for some time, I've now been getting an error each time I start Greenshot on my Lenovo (OS: Vista). This goes also for the autostart, of course. Re-Installing did not have an effect. It says:

"Could not load Greenshot's configuration file. Please check access permissions for C:\Users\fs\AppData\Roaming\Greenshot\config.dat"

I had blocked some things in the autostart via msconfig, but Greenshot I did not select. I'm still using the account I used when I set up GS, so I don't really understand why Users\fs should not have access to that file anymore?

Thanks for any ideas (please keep it simple ;o)

spike

• Jens Klingen

Jens Klingen - 2008-08-14

Hi Spike,

Sorry to hear you're having trouble with Greenshot.
      I believe that the config file got screwed up for some reason...

Could you please rename or delete the config.dat file and restart Greenshot?
      When the program starts and there is no config.dat file, it generates a new one.
      This should solve the problem, however your Greenshot settings will be discarded.

Sorry for the inconvenience, we will try to figure out what could have caused the problem.

Cheers,
      Jens

• fs01

fs01 - 2008-08-15

Morning Jens,

thanks for replying that quickly. It's working again, so thanks very much indeed!!

I do wish you all the best when dealing with Vista. That OS is really great, it took me minutes to even find the right folder ;o)

Br,
      spike

• fs01

fs01 - 2008-08-21

Morning,

well, well... happened again, I'm afraid. Here's some info:

Full access to config.dat, acc. to security settings, is given to:

fs (fs-PC\fs)
        SYSTEM
        Admins

Properties of "config.dat":
        File size: 0 Bytes