Install problems with Fedora 2

Help
2005-04-09
2013-05-14
  • Scott Ackerman

Scott Ackerman - 2005-04-09

I am new to linux but I didn't think I was this stupid. When I try to install the RPM I get the message that this program requires pygtk>=2.3.96. I have checked and 2.40 comes with Fedora 3. What gives?

• tom

tom - 2005-04-10

You're not stupid -- RPMs are a bit of a nightmare. Although you'd think that since so many distros use them, there'd be some standardization, there is not.  In fedora, the package is called pygtk2, not pygtk.

You have two options -- install from source or force the RPM you use to override the default.

Newer versions of Gourmet *should* have fancy new distro-specific RPM packages which will help resolve this sort of problem. However, I've had some problems getting them built for python2.3 (standard on most distros) since I use python2.4, so I haven't released RPMs for the latest gourmet yet. I'll try to fix this soon.

Also, you should know that installing from source is pretty trivial -- there's no real compiling involved with python programs the way there is with C, so you can always grab the tarball and use

python setup.py install

Tom

• Bruce Bowler

Bruce Bowler - 2005-08-15

Same but different problem.  I installed latest (0.8.5.10) and can't import from web page.  I'm running on FC4, installed gourmet with rpm, no dependancy issues reported.  Error on terminal when I attempt webpag import is...

Traceback (most recent call last):
        File "/usr/share/gourmet/GourmetRecipeManager.py", line 871, in import_webpageg
          import importers.html_importer
        File "/usr/share/gourmet/importers/html_importer.py", line 5, in ?
          from html_plugins import *
      ImportError: No module named html_plugins

Any help?

• nanotube

nanotube - 2005-08-15