Menu

DASH sequences from segments belonging to different files

2014-07-24
2014-11-28
  • ian flitman

ian flitman - 2014-07-24

Hi All,

Forgive the generality of this post - I am new to GPAC but would like to know before I start whether it can satisfy my use case.

I have an online interactive dialogue where users can change lines based on the alternatives provided throughout and play back the new video conversation. I want to deliver this via DASH to the dash.js player in Chrome.

So instead of having one file split into different segments either internally or as external files, I will start with very many external files in different directories as hopefully dashable segments which can be strung together into different sequences. For this, I will I think need unique mpds and some in-fragment on-the-fly alterations to the segments the mpd points to.

Assuming I can generate an mpd with the correct order of files, is it possible with GPAC to create from scratch the initial moov fragment header or mp4 init file, that pieces together with the correct metadata all the files the user or program has chosen to string together?

I will then presumably have to change the sidx of each named fragment, or mfhd so they obey the correct order now given to them, and perhaps the segment timing information too (?).

Important to my use case is the fact that at any given time the user can change a line or camera angle within their dialogue, and then play it back with the new material seamless inserted into it replacing what was there before. In this case I will also need to flush the current mpd file from the player, recreate it or modify it, and revise the sidx etc from the fragments now being used.

Is this theoretically and practically possible using GPAC? Are they any other gotchas I have not accounted for?

Thanking you in advance,

ian

• Romain Bouqueau

Romain Bouqueau - 2014-07-24