gnofract4d on MAC OS-X Tiger

Help
osiris300
2007-02-06
2014-05-25
  • osiris300

osiris300 - 2007-02-06

I have a Intel i-MAC with OS-X 10.4 Tiger and I want to install the gnofract4d. But I am not a UNIX expert. And I have never compiled any programs. I'm only a User.

Question: Has anyone of you a Final Compiled Version of gnofract4d for OS-X 10.4 Tiger? If yes, could you send me
    the directory with the excutables to my e-mail: rolfzaugg@gmx.net ??

Thank you very much

• Edwin Young

Edwin Young - 2007-02-07

Hi,

I'm afraid I'm not aware of any way to do this simply, and I don't have a Mac to experiment with. If anyone else has any information on this I'd be interested to hear about it.

• cfr

cfr - 2007-03-26

I tried to compile for Tiger on a PPC. I do have experience compiling software, but not much experience with Python and not much experience of successfully solving issues.

An email exchange with the developer resulted in the following conclusions: it will not currently compile under Mac OS X and it is not likely to do anytime soon.

I doubt this is a PPC issue.

I've wondered whether it has to do with the very Mac-specific implementation of Python recommended as standard on python.org. I don't know this, though. It's just a hunch along the lines of "maybe". But I seriously doubt my ability to address that kind of obstacle, so I'm just looking at this with longing.

For a OS traditionally known for graphics, it seems ironic that Windows users have a slew of fractal programmes, many freeware or open-source, other unices have _this_ and Mac OS X (especially OS X) has remarkably little that I've found.

Keep staring in the bakery window...

If anybody does solve this one, I would dearly like to know.

- cfr

• J.B.

J.B. - 2007-05-22

It is possible, and not too difficult to compile gnofract4d for Mac OS X.  Here are the instructions:

1) Install XCode.