Confusion about Great Ellipse, Great Circle and Geodesic

Help
Master
2021-10-12
2021-10-12
  • Master

Master - 2021-10-12

Hi.
    I am a complete newbie in all of this and was recently trying to calculate distance between two gps coordinates.
    I found geographiclib and started using it but the more I delve into this, the more confused I get.
    Recently (as of couple of hours ago!) I tried to see how I can make sure a coordinate resides in a circle with a given radius. this very simple question got really confusing.
    As I was searching for an answer I kept facing terms such as Great Circle Distance, Great Ellipse, Geodesic and more (like Great Ellipse sailing? I found it in this paper ).

So I knew I was using Geodesic all this time solely because the examples were using Geodesic! So I navigated to the documentation where it says :

The shortest path between two points on a ellipsoid at (lat1, lon1) and (lat2, lon2) is called the geodesic

so geodesic is the shortest path on an ellipsoid. ok so far so good. lets go on, then later on on the same page I read:

On a sphere, the geodesic is a great circle. On the ellipsoid, the problem is usually solved by transferring the geodesic to an "auxiliary sphere" where the latitude phi has been replaced by the reduced latitude beta where tan(beta) = (1 - f) tan(phi). On this sphere, the geodesic is again a great circle and the azimuth is the same as on the ellipsoid. However, the ellipsoidal distance is related to the great circle distance by an integral; and the ellipsoidal longitude is similarly related to the longitude on the auxiliary sphere

now I'm confused, I know based on this link great circle distance is used for intercontinental measurements :

The great circle distance is useful to evaluate the shortest path when intercontinental distances are concerned. It follows the sphericity of the globe, any shortest route is the one following the curve of the planet, along the parallels.