Menu

HSerPrint in a subroutine has a strange behaviour

2017-10-26
2017-10-26
  • Giuseppe D'Elia

Giuseppe D'Elia - 2017-10-26

I have a strange problem when using HSerPrint within a sub.
    The code is reported in the following.
    The first HSerPrint in the sub prints the expected characters: 13,10,"prova",13,10
    The second call prints the expected characters: received=
    The third call prints the unexpected characters: received=
    It seems that the instruction HSerPrint "received=" destroy the content of the local variable Strin_in and substitute the previous content with received=
    It is this a normal behaviour of the compiler?
    Sorry for the question, I'm new to GCBASIC.
    Thanks

#chip 18F886, 16
    #option explicit

; ----- Define Hardware settings
      Dir PORTC.6 Out   'Tx = Pin 17
      Dir PORTC.7 In    'Rx = Pin 18
      'Config UART
      #define USART_BLOCKING
      #define USART_BAUD_RATE 9600
      #config OSC=HS
      sckp=1

printing("13,10,""prova"",13,10")

sub printing(Strin_in as String)

Dim Strin_in as String *30

HSerPrint strin_in
      HSerPrintCRLF
      HSerPrint "received="
      HSerPrintCRLF
      HSerPrint strin_in

end sub

• mmotte

mmotte - 2017-10-26

Guiseppe,

I have repeated the unexpected results.

It is like the HSerPrint's string input is overwriting Your "printing" sub's input string.

Actually any string use of HSerPrint is over writing the Sub's input string.

#chip 16F886, 8
    #option explicit

'Config UART
      #define USART_BLOCKING
      '#config OSC=HS
      'sckp=1
      'Dim Strin_in as String *30
      Dim myString as string
      wait 5 sec
      HSerPrint "testing"
      HSerPrintCRLF
      Do
      wait 5 s
      loop

sub printing(In Strin_in as String)
        mystring = strin_in
      HSerPrint "begin"
      HSerPrintCRLF

HSerPrint Strin_in
      HSerPrintCRLF
      HSerPrint "received="
      HSerPrintCRLF
      HSerPrint Strin_in

HSerPrintCRLF
      HSerPrint myString