Menu

PWM with AVR

Help
gcha44
2013-05-27
2014-04-07
  • gcha44

gcha44 - 2013-05-27

It seems PWM doesn't work with AVR . Is't possible to complete PWM.H for AVR's ?

• gcha44

gcha44 - 2013-05-28

Is there somebody who knows how to implement PWM with Atmega ?

• kent_twt4

kent_twt4 - 2013-05-28

Sure, here is an example for 20kHz PWM on an ATtiny25.  Double check data sheet for your particular ATmega chip, change the define to your liking, or just plug in the value for PWM_LED for your duty cycle value.

#define PWM_LED OCR1B
    dir PortB.4 out
    TCCR1 = B'00000010'         'PRESCALE 1/2, 8 MHz CK fuse, equals 16.5KHz PWM
    OCR1C = 210         'With PCK 1/2, GETS 20khZ
    GTCCR = B'01100000'         'enable PWM1B

• gcha44

gcha44 - 2013-05-28

Thanks Kent . I'll try this with an atmega8 . Regards

• Anonymous

Anonymous - 2014-04-07

Can one of you experts offer some comments on what's going on here? I'm brand new to the AVR's. Which of these would be the case?

1. GC Basic doesn't support hardware PWM on AVR's at all, so you must set things up completely by hand.
    2. GC Basic sets up some of the PWM stuff, but you have to do the rest.
    3. GC Basic completely supports hardware PWM, but it just hasn't been documented.

In any event, from the example above, I'm not clear on what is setting the frequency and what is setting the duty cycle.

Thanks for any advice!

• Anobium

Anobium - 2014-04-07

From a quick code review point of view.... there is only one set of code for PWM. If the AVR has the same config as a PC then it could work. Tyically, we have options in the code for PIC and AVR - I see the default only which means both chip types gets the same treatment.

I normally hand crank PWM but I have no experience with AVR.

Anboium

• Anonymous

Anonymous - 2014-04-07