More Serial RX problems

Rich
2023-12-10
2024-01-02
1 2 > >> (Page 1 of 2)
  • Rich

Rich - 2023-12-10

Hi Everyone,
    I'm a hobbyist learning GCBasic for the fun of it. I'm trying to achieve communication over the hardware serial port of a PIC16F1825. I seem to have it working OK when the PIC is transmitting but I can't get the PIC to receive anything. I've searched the forums but just can't seem to get this working. I've attached my working TX file and my non-working RX file. Any help much appreciated.

• Anobium

Anobium - 2023-12-10

Hello,

Have a look at the attached. These are very basic. You really need a recieve ring buffer else you will loose bits when you are displaying the bytes that have arrived.

There is a ring buffer in the Help and in the demos.

You had a bit of extra code in the programs. I have removed - it will be obvious.

:-)

• Anobium

Anobium - 2023-12-10

Attached is a ring buffer version. I just cut and pasted from the Help.

Should work if you connect TX to RX, and RX to TX between the chips, with a common 0v0

You typically do not need to configure the OSC, or, many of the registers that are document. GCBASIC does a lot for you. Just ask if you need more information.

• Rich

Rich - 2023-12-10

Hi Anobium,
    Thanks for the quick reply. I found that I needed the register configurations for the TX program to work. If I leave them out then I get nothing. I tried your RXSerialComms file (thanks very much) but unfortunately I get nothing from that either. I am just using 1 chip connected to a PC terminal through a TTL adapter.

• Anobium

Anobium - 2023-12-10

Which pin(s) to have connected? you should be using the default pins as detailed in the datasheet Table 1 RC4 and RC5.

• Rich

Rich - 2023-12-10

Hmm. I'm using RA0 and RA1. They are also labelled as TX and RX.

• Anobium

Anobium - 2023-12-10

Yes, try the others they are default and the ports we test against.. Then, if they work... then you can move back, if needed.

• Rich