Howto test gag from usb stick?

Help
2004-06-19
2013-05-28
  • FunThomas424242

FunThomas424242 - 2004-06-19

Hi,

i'm new to gag. I would like to test gag. But on my computer there is none floppy disk (laptop). So i would like test and install gag on a usb stick.
    At now i'm using windows. Howto make a bootable usb-stick to test gag?

Thanks Thoms

• du

du - 2004-08-08

good question,why no answer?

• Sergio Costas Rodriguez

I'm not sure. I know that you can create a bootable USB stick by copying a floppy image into it in some way, so you have to copy the disk.dsk file into it in that way. Unfortunately I don't know the way.

Anyway :) you can try with a CD-ROM too.

• IceCube

IceCube - 2007-08-20

Use "HP USB Disk Storage Format Tool" to format the usbstick.

The next site discribes how to make an USB stick bootable when you have no floppy drive
        http://www.nforcershq.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=575175

Part 3B of the site:

Your USB Memory Device should be visible on the top most drop down menu (if not, look for it, if it still does not show up, your USB Device may be incompatible with booting or this utility).
        Select FAT or FAT32 as your file system, Fat32 may be preferable for large memory devices, FAT may be preferred if you are going for maximum compatibility (example: you want to use the device with Printers, Cameras, etc).
        Optionally, you may give your USB-MD a Volume Label.
        Click the ''Quick Format'' check box.
        Click the ''Create DOS Startup Disk'' check box.
        Select the ''Using DOS System Files Located at:'' radio button.
        Point the HP Utility to the source of your DOS system files (the directory, floppy, or virtual floppy drive) using the [...] button below the ''Using DOS System Files Located at:'' radio button.
        Click the [Start] button.

I recommend
        After installing, open "HP USB Disk Storage Format Tool"
          Choose the right Device (e.g. not your external HD)