Menu

FXi_Alpha_Expert-Advisor_v1.7 - Questions

Chrisstoff
2008-03-03
2013-03-22
  • Chrisstoff

Chrisstoff - 2008-03-03

MrSands & TinasheChipomho,

Thank you for this great project and the nice coding. I think this trading system has a great potential. I appreciate your efforts on decreasing the drawdown.

I am not a professional programmer though I am interested in MQL. I looked through your code and I got some questions that I would like to ask.

It seems that you designed the EA to fit IBFX's currency pair assortment. Other brokers may have different assortments, e.g. CADJPY that has no magic number calculation in the code. Would it be useful to adapt MakeMagicNumber() function to compute SymbolCode for other currency pairs as well?
    There are two currency pairs with the same SymbolCode (=1000) in the MakeMagicNumber() function. I know that it is not a bug but there are many free positions for using different magic numbers.

I studied the hedge strategy code. May I ask you whether using
    Bid <=  s3 instead of Bid >= s3 and
    Bid >=  s3 - (Strategy.Hedging.Slippage*Point)instead of Bid <= (s3+(Strategy.Hedging.Slippage*Point)
    would be slightly better?

I was also thinking about a safety distance between r3 (or s3) and the trigger point of hedging orders. There are occasions when the price goes through r3 or s3 by a couple of pips then retraces. Do you think that a safety distance would be useful in these cases? If yes, I think about using something like this:

if ( (Ask >=  r3 + R_Cushion) &&
         (Ask <= (r3 + R_Cushion + (Strategy.Hedging.Slippage*Point)) )                  
       ){
    and
    if ( (Bid <=  s3 - S_Cushion) &&
         (Bid >= (s3 - S_Cushion - (Strategy.Hedging.Slippage*Point)) )     
       ){

Where e.g.
      double R_Cushion = MathAbs(r2-r3);
      double S_Cushion = MathAbs(s2-s3); 
    and
      double r2 = prices[FIBO_LEVEL_R2];
      double s2 = prices[FIBO_LEVEL_S2];

Thanks again for the valuable project,