What does the "Installer" actually do?

GeraldH
2009-05-04
2013-03-05
  • GeraldH
    GeraldH
    2009-05-04

Hi,
      I realize the subject question is somewhat simplistic (or dumb), but let me explain:
    My home-based Asterisk PBX box is behind a NAT (with public static adrs), but I wanted
    to increase the security - so I started playing with fwbuilder (v 3.04 build 794 on Ubuntu
    Intrepid ) since I didn't wish to delve into the iptables. By the way this is a great
    product and effort. My router only forwards SIP udp port 5060 and rtp (ports 10000+),
    and IAX2 udp port 4569 to the static IP Asterisk box.

Since my VOIP provider has all of his proxy servers at the same subnet and I register
    TO his proxy, I figured I could stealth ALL my ports. So I installed FwBuilder on the
    Asterisk box and manually execute the *.fw script and manually clear the iptables
    so as not to reboot my phone system during the testing.  Everything 'seems' to work
    just fine.

NOW THE PROBLEM:

I inserted the the firewall.fw script in the file /etc/rc.local to be
    executed at boot-up. HOWEVER, after a reboot with this method, my outgoing "register"
    signals are being blocked. If I then (without rebooting) empty the iptables and then
    run my *.fw script manually, "register" signals are now unblocked and everything is OK..

Although the files displayed (via "iptables -t filter -n -L --line-numbers", and also
    a command for the "mangle" tables) are indentical for both the "manual" method and
    the "auto-boot" method, it's obvious something is different. Are there some iptables
    that I'm not displaying to the screen with the above iptables commands?
    Only user "root" has file permissions, by the way.

Do I HAVE to use the built-in Installer?  I noticed in the recent pdf, "Using Built-in
    Policy Installer in Firewall Builder" from Vadim Kurland that I CAN use ssh on the