Freemind & Windows 7 32 bit

• John Burrell

John Burrell - 2010-05-23

I've today downloaded Freemind 0.8.1 & the latest JRE to get working on my new 32 bit Windows 7 machine. It launches & runs fine but will/can not save a map. I've tried the freemind.bat change but cannot get it to happen. Any help appreciated - thanks.

• AnGus King

AnGus King - 2010-05-24

I don't run Windows 7 so can't say how wel it works in your environment but I'd really encourage you to install FreeMind 0.9.1 RC6 or RC7. The functionality is much better.

Kind regards

• John Burrell

John Burrell - 2010-05-24

Thanks Angus - I'm new to open software & hadn't thought there would be beta versions available so just got the latest offered. Downloading now so hopefully that's the answer.

• Michael Biele

Michael Biele - 2010-08-23

I just started using FreeMind (0.9.0) and have found it to be an excellent tool for modeling.  My laptop is currently running Windows Vista SP2 and I have already purchased Windows 7 which I have not yet installed.  Because of the amount of work I have already put into the business model I am building I do not want to go to Windows 7 if FreeMind will not work or is unstable.  What is your recommendation.

Thanks very much,

• Daniel Polansky

Daniel Polansky - 2010-08-24

Hello Mike,

I do not know whether it is usual for people to experience problems running FreeMind 0.8.1 on Windows 7 32-bit. This thread is the only one that I have found that deals with issues of Windows 7 32-bit; there is another thread for Windows 64-bit. I am keeping track of all the issues related to Windows 7 here: