Freemind for Android -- tablet/pad version

Bakkun
2010-07-07
2014-12-21
  • Bakkun

Bakkun - 2010-07-07

Is there anyone working on a version of freemind as an Android app? If not I'd like to work on a version of freemind for Android, specifically for a  tablet/pad used for educational purposes. I'm new to freemind, so it'd be great if someone can point me to the right direction. Thanks.

• DizzyC

DizzyC - 2010-07-08

Love this application! And i subscribe, please port this application for android phones. As far as i know android apps are (can be) written in Java and since FreeMind is written in Java maybe it is not such a big Step.
    Anyways I'd LOVE to be able to take my mindmaps with me on my phone!!

There is a temporary solution to this problem. There is a Mindmapping application for Android called Thinking Space. It looks great and works OK. It does not have all the features of FreeMind, but it is usable. It also generates .mm files and i can open them with Freemind. I lose all the formatting but the information is there. Promblem is that Freemind says it is an old format of mm file. It converts it and I cannot open it on my Android phone again. If there was a possibillity to use the same map on my phone and PC it would be great. I use Freemind for task management aswell so i need to be able to get to the information while I'm mobile.

• Bakkun

Bakkun - 2010-07-08

Thanks for the info, Thinking Space is a pretty good app, though I don't think it's open source like FreeMind. I've tried to contact the developer. We'll see what comes of that.

• Bakkun

Bakkun - 2010-07-08

Update -- Charlie said that he currently has no plan to Open Source Thinking Space, but noted that the android heap size is only 16MB big (24 MB for high density devices) which may be an issue.

• fla

fla - 2010-07-14

I think this is a great idea.
    I would love to have FreeMind on my Cell Phone.
    is there any one that has developed it for Symbian, Android or iphone?