Bring back the old settlement screen

2010-01-15
2013-01-10
  • Nobody/Anonymous

Not to be unappreciative. I do like 0.9. But could you bring back the old settlement screen as a option. I liked it better because I could see more stuff from the main screen. Also i didn't have to remember what the images meant.

• Nobody/Anonymous

I like the new colony building graphics, but maybe a little too large? You can stretch the colony window, so that everything will show properly. As for building names, just hover the mouse over each one and it tells you what type they are.

• Nobody/Anonymous

Yeah, as a usability engineer, I've got to say 0.9 took a step backwards in terms of discoverability and general GUI ease of use.

• Phil Grant

Phil Grant - 2010-01-17

I like the new display, but there are things about the old display that I prefer.

1. I prefer the way the old version displayed manufactured goods below their respective raw materials: rum under sugar, coats under furs, etc.

2. I prefer the way the old version displayed construction progress in the main window rather than in a pop-up. I could immediately see the effects of redeploying workers in a "what-if" query.

• Nobody/Anonymous

Moreover, it shows the positive food surplus but does not show its negative value (excessive consumption). So, if you inadvertently put too many colonists into the colony, you shall only after some turns receive the "famine feared in…" warning. (You may check it in the Colony Report though.)

• Nobody/Anonymous