#2422 naitives train infinitive number of experts

Fixed_0.10.6
closed-invalid
nobody
5
2013-01-16
2012-05-20
MSM
No

if you first enter an naitive settelment with an missionary before you try to train your settlers, the naitives will train an infinitive number of settlers.
if you enter a settelment without or before a missionary, they only train one. (as it should be)
sorry, no savegame

btw: awesome game!

Discussion

  • Mike Pope

    Mike Pope - 2012-05-23

    I can not reproduce this (except of course with the native capitals, where the behaviour is correct).

     
  • MSM

    MSM - 2012-05-23

    i'm sorry i forgot to tell that i was playing only with aztecs and incas.
    i added a savegame with one missionary and 5 settlers next to a c ity of the aztecs.
    there is a difference betwen entering the city first with the missionary and than train the settlers and vince versa.
    i'm not sure, wich is right. but i can't remember that i could train so much settlers in one city.

     
  • MSM

    MSM - 2012-05-23

    savegame

     
  • Mike Pope

    Mike Pope - 2012-05-23

    Ah, now I think I see what is happening. I can not tell for sure (a saved game *really* helps), but I expect you have the "enhanced missionaries" game option enabled. If so, what you are seeing is expected. This is one of the extra advantages of placing a missionary provided by that option.

     
  • MSM

    MSM - 2012-05-23

    ok, i see, my fault ;)
    but: why can't you train new units after founding a mission?
    1. one unit is trained,
    2. a mission is founded
    3. still no other unit can be trained
    but:
    1. a mission is founded
    2. you can train a huge number of settlers

     
  • Mike Pope

    Mike Pope - 2012-05-23

    In Col1 the normal rule is that settlements can only train one unit --- once a unit is trained the skill-that-can-be-learned is cleared. The exception is the native capitals, where the skill is not cleared, so as many units as you like can be trained. In FreeCol, we added another exception, controlled by the enhanced missionaries option, such that if you have a missionary in a settlement, then training one of your units does not clear the skill-to-be-learned. So clearly, if a non-capital settlement has already trained a unit and lost the ability to train more, putting a missionary there is not going to improve the training situation. It is still a good idea of course, as there are other benefits to missionaries.

    This is all documented in the manual (I just improved the text in svn.9847).

     
  • Mike Pope

    Mike Pope - 2012-05-25
    • labels: --> General Gameplay
    • status: open --> pending-works-for-me
     
  • Mike Pope

    Mike Pope - 2012-09-04
    • milestone: --> Fixed_(FreeCol_0.10.6)
     
  • Mike Pope

    Mike Pope - 2013-01-04
    • status: pending-works-for-me --> closed-works-for-me
     
  • Mike Pope

    Mike Pope - 2013-01-11
    • status: closed-works-for-me --> closed-invalid
     

Log in to post a comment.