Menu

Tell me what you think/ want

Tom Turkey
2010-10-15
2020-06-29
  • Tom Turkey

Tom Turkey - 2010-10-15

I am looking for someone, possibly you, to give me a little feed back on filerunner.  Tell me what you like, but, mostly what you don't like or would like added and I will see if I can find some time to satisfy your request(s).

• sokol470

sokol470 - 2012-12-29

The FileRunner is the greatest file browser available, no question. I have been using it since 1996. Recently, after installation of Ubuntu, I ran into problem with fonts in my 2.5 (1996) version so I downloaded the latest and greatest  fr-12.12.25.15. I didn't like the columns outline so I went one version back to fr-11.2.20.13 which is tolerable as far as the columns arrangement.
    However, I was unable to remove the 'lk' column that I consider useless. Anyway, it turned out  as helpful to get these newer version as I figured the GUI font and inserted 'TkFixedFont' into my old 1996 version.
    Also, the info line 'File/Dir lk size mtime' is kind of superfluous (maybe useful for Windows users).
    Summary: I'd be happy to return to the latest 12.12.25.15 when I hack out the features I don't want. 

• Zhang Weiwu

Zhang Weiwu - 2020-06-29

This thread is 10 years old but let me provide feedback anyway. When I found filerunner I was searching for a tool that allows me to do recursive deduplicate.

You see, sometimes I got copies of data in a portable HDD that is largely the duplicates of my archive. Normally I would open my own archive (my internal HDD) in the left pane and the portable HDD in the right pane to compare and remove duplicated files. I always remove duplicated files in the right pane, since left pane is what I keep.

I was kind of hoping something other than midnight commander can make the process easy for me that's when I chanced on your tool.