Monitoring Windows Servers

Help
Anonymous
2010-01-25
2013-03-18
  • Anonymous - 2010-01-25

Hello,

I'm fairly new to Nagios and very new to FAN.  I have a working nagios installation running on Ubuntu 8.10 already.  My company wants more reporting capability than Nagios provides so I've decided to make a test installation of FAN.  The installation goes smoothly but I am not able to monitor any of the hosts that I am already monitoring with the other Nagios installation.  Could anyone provide instructions for setting up a windows host through Centreon.  I'm trying to monitor Win2k3 boxes using NSClient++.  When I create a host, I use the Servers-Win2K3 template which has checks for CPU, Memory, Swap, and Ping.  I get the following errors:

cpu - ERROR when getting CPU percentage use values : ProcessorLoad Table : No response from remote host
    memory - ERROR: hrStorageDescr Table : No response from remote host
    Swap - ERROR: hrStorageDescr Table : No response from remote host

The ping is successful.  I appreciate any help.

Thanks,

Matt

• Gian

Gian - 2010-04-09

Hi,

Assuming that the nsclient service is running on the windows machine, have you modified the "nsc.ini" file in the nsclient program directory allowing your nagios server to make the query (dont forget to restart the service after making changes in that file)? the other thing I had to do to get it running was to enter the password - the one set in the nsc.ini file - in the check command… so my check_nt_disk command looks something like this:

$USER1$/check_nt -H $HOSTADDRESS$ -v USEDDISKSPACE -s "password" -l $ARG1$ -w $ARG2$ -c $ARG3$

once that was done, I was able to monitor my windows servers.

hope that helps.
    Gian

• Tom Talley

Tom Talley - 2010-04-09

I too am a new fan of FAN and I was able to get all of the basic windows services monitored without using NSClient++.
    I just used the standard windows snmp service.