Menu

Local orbitals, Rgkmax

andrei
2007-05-16
2013-06-05
  • andrei

andrei - 2007-05-16

Hi,

First of, I would like to thank the Exciting team for creating the excellent alternative to commercial LAPW programs! It's great to have such feature-rich and free software!

I am new to ab initio calculations and learning how to use the program using Wien2k "primer" from http://www.fys.kuleuven.ac.be/iks/nvsf/publications/DFT_and_LAPW.pdf. Comparing the two programs, there are some thing which I would like to be clarified. In the Exciting code features it is stated that it uses FP-LAPW basis set with local orbitals. Using Wien2k terminology, is it LAPW+LO? Are APW+lo functions also available? Is there any documentation on the structure of species files and on setting up the local orbitals?

The other question is more practical. I am trying to optimize the calculation parameters (again following the same Wien2k primer). After finding the optimal mesh I am checking the convergence with respect to rgkmax. The convergence is good at rgkmax=6.0-7.0, but becomes worse for rgkmax=7.5 (the total energy keeps going down). The calculations don't converge within 200 iterations for rgkmax=8.0. What could be the problem? My material system is 4H-SiC with 8 atoms in the cell and autormt turned on with default parameters.

Thanks very much in advance for any info,
    Andrei

• exciting

exciting - 2007-05-17

Dear Andrei,

The EXCITING code is similar to Wien2k, but is somewhat more flexible in that you can have any combination of (L)APWs and local orbitals for any energy and l-value. You can also match the APWs to any order of derivative (the practical limit is 6th order) for very smooth basis sets (Super-LAPW etc.). The species files are fairly self-explanatory, although in the next release (0.9.8x), there will be an example which requires a new species file (Ununhexium) as an example of how to construct them. Complete documentation will be available in a few months.