SourceForge has been redesigned. Learn more.
Close

Blink modification

General
Anonymous
2011-02-12
2012-11-20
  • Anonymous

Anonymous - 2011-02-12

Hi my name is Luka and I have a question. I am studying computing (third year) and for my final project my mentor suggested contributing to this project. I agreed, and we decided to merge eviacam with blink detection. Code for blink detection is open source and available on null .  Blink idea is partially implemented, but my concern lies with merging modified version with the original code. I used eviacam version 1.4 for my base version because I couldn't afford catching up to changes, do to deadlines. I think the idea is great, but this is my first large project and I need some advice.
    1) I've encountered the problem of maintaining framerate  high because of additional computational cost of blink detection.
    2) Next step would be implementing face detection and eye-restriction box, ergo additional computational cost of working thread.

There is more, but the first two problems are pain, so my question is :
    - Is additional modification of worker thread desirable, and if not what do you suggest?
    - Will this project of my see daylight because of incompatibility with the current version?

I apologise if my English is not very good.
    Advices are most welcome.

• Cesar Mauri-Loba

Hi Luka,

Thanks for your efforts and interest in contributing to eViacam.

> 2) Next step would be implementing face detection and eye-restriction box, ergo additional computational cost of working thread.
    > Is additional modification of worker thread desirable, and if not what do you suggest?