Menu

Why total energy increases during a self-consistent cycle

2015-08-10
2016-01-27
  • Jose Coutinho

Jose Coutinho - 2015-08-10

Dear all,

I have been using elk for a few months and often I realized that the total energy increases during the scf cycle. Here is an example:

Total energy of a 64 Ge atom supercell with a substitutional Fe atom.

SCF-related flags are:

reducebf
       0.5                                : reduce mag field every SCF step

mixtype                              : Inter-step mixing
        3                                  : Broyden

beta0                                : small mixing parameter required. Decrease if unstable

nempty                               : Num empty states/atom.spin

Could some one explain if (and why) this is ok?

Many thanks for your assistance,

/José

Last edit: Jose Coutinho 2015-08-10
  • Eike Schwier

Eike Schwier - 2015-08-10

Hello José,

the convergence of the total energy seems fine to me. Depending on the atomic potentials in the first scf loop it may look less monoton, but if the convergence is easily obtained as in your case the energy should move towards this converged vaulue without much oscilations. Wether this is from an initially higher value or as in your case a lower value may depend on the system.

On another note I would like to point out that beta0 (and betamax for that matter) should be related to mixtype 1 (adaptive linear mixer) and for broyden mixer (mixtype 3) the related parameters would be broypm and mixsdb.

best regards,
    Eike

• Jose Coutinho

Jose Coutinho - 2015-08-12

Dear Eike,