Errore/Note at end of tasks: IEEE_INVALID_FLAG, IEEE_UNDERFLOW_FLAG

Elk Users
peterp
2015-08-08
2015-08-13
  • peterp

peterp - 2015-08-08

Hello everybody,
    I'm new at Elk and I am learning how to use it. I noticed that, even when running the examples, I get the following message:
    "Note; The following floating-point exceptions are signalling: IEEE_INVALID_FLAG IEEE_UNDERFLOW_FLAG"
    Should I worry about it?
    Thank you in advance.

• martin_frbg

martin_frbg - 2015-08-12

At least in the test cases, these appear to be harmless and due to calculations involving numbers very close to zero, perhaps compounded by the suggested compiler flag -O3 for somewhat aggressive optimization that may rearrange lines of code.
    You could recompile the code with --fpe-trap=invalid to abort with a floating point exception instead so you can identify the cause in a debugger ( also add "-g" to get meaningful backtraces).
    Or see if dropping the optimization level to -O2
    is sufficient to get rid of the warning - it does on the laptop I am currently traveling with, though the performance penalty could be noticable on expensive, long-running calculations.

• martin_frbg

martin_frbg - 2015-08-13

Following my own advice, I have now played around a bit with "make test": The most common cause for the IEEE fault warnings here is a code snippet in genffacgp.f90 that is