PARALLELIZATION MPI+PHONONS

Elk Users
Elio
2014-12-13
2015-02-14
  • Elio

Elio - 2014-12-13

Dear All,

I really need some help on the parallelization of the Elk code for phonon calculations. I am not an expert in Fortran; however I spend two full days trying to find solutions on the internet and trying all sorts of combining compilers to include in the "make,inc" file but in vain...For example adding the flag fopenmp to mpif90 produces an error while running Elk (namely about charge density)...on the other hand mpif90 does not accept the flag openmp and crashes with an error (use mpi, include paths..)..Compiling with a combination of ifort and mpif90 with -fopenmp produces an a segmentation fault error....In brief, I managed to compile successfully with the follwing make.inc

MKLROOT=/opt/intel/Compiler/11.1/069/mkl
    MAKE = make
    F90 = mpif90
    F90_OPTS = -O3 -ip -unroll
    F77 = mpif90
    F77_OPTS = -O3 -ip -unroll
    AR = ar
    LIB_SYS =
    LIB_LPK = lapack.a blas.a /opt/intel/Compiler/11.1/069/mkl/lib/em64t/libmkl_lapack95_lp64.a -lmkl_intel_lp64 -lmkl_sequential -lmkl_core -limf -lsvml -lirc -liomp5 -lp
    thread -lifcore -lgfortran
    LIB_FFT = fftlib.a

I have also realized that I can run the phonons calculations in serial that is if I open several windows, i can manage to run a point per cluster window...Howver this is will become utterly impractical for an 8 atoms system that I have to run.

Please can anyone advise me ( and in details) how can I incorporate parallelization for phonon calculations using mpiexec or any other method...

Waiting for an asnwer...Thanks in advance.

P.S. I run mpiexec using a slurm bash. I presume I need to change things in here:

SBATCH --nodelist=NODELIST

SBATCH -o elk.o

SBATCH -J elk

SBATCH --partition=superlong

SBATCH --nodes=6

SBATCH --ntasks=48

SBATCH --cpus-per-task=1

SBATCH --error=elk.err

-----------------elk----------------

EXEC_DIR=/home_cluster/fis718/eliemouj/elk-2.3.22/src/