Menu

Setting up on Windows

Elk Users
Harry K
2016-08-15
2016-08-19
  • Harry K

Harry K - 2016-08-15

Hi all, I'm new to the field and trying to install my first package to have a go at some DFT calculations, so apologies for the novice question.
    I'm having trouble getting the code to compile. I'm using Windows 10 and Powershell, and typing "./setup" whilst in the elk directory is just opening the file for editing rather than running it. Not really sure what I'm doing wrong :/

Thanks in advance :)

• martin_frbg

martin_frbg - 2016-08-15

I doubt Win10 provides enough of a compatibility layer to build what is essentially a Unix/Linux program suite. (For one, powershell is apparently no substitute for the /bin/sh that setup expects). Look into installing mingw/msys first, or use a virtualization software like vmware player or virtualbox to run a complete Linux system as a windows task.

• Markus

Markus - 2016-08-16

Dear Harry,

"setup" is a bash script, which you need to run in some kind of sh-interpreteter, which you normally have on unixoid systems like Linux, BSD, Solaris, MacOS, (Android?) etc. This is not going to work on Windows. Since elk comes as Fortran source code, it should in principle be possible to compile it on any system that has a Fortran compiler, but code modifications might be necessary.

Maybe the new Windows Subsystem for Linux (https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/commandline/wsl/install_guide) will provide you sufficient compatibility to install the toolchain for compiling a fortran application, in particular the GNU Fortran Compiler; the WSL has some Ubuntu derived features, so apt-get install gfortran could work.