Menu

View queue faxes flashes andd disappears

Frank K
2010-05-11
2013-05-13
  • Frank K

Frank K - 2010-05-11

Hello, This is my first post to this forum.
    I'm also new to efax-gtk. So far I haven't sent anything and all receives have failed, but I think I can make this work!

Something that looks broken is the momentry display I get when trying to view queued faxes. The behavior reminds me of something that needs to be run in from a shell.

If I use enstript and print to a file, my gs displays the file OK. If enscript prints to the faxprinter the fax queue View is a blip.

I have opensuse 11.2 and kde 4.3.1 installed off a DVD. My fax modem is a USR 2976 PCI HW modem. I build the latest efax-gtk tarball, but I built rpms from it and installed them. I've edited the efax-gtk file in /etc.

To be able to trouble shoot the fax problems, it's nice to view the queues and log file.

Is this momentary display behavior a common setup mistake? Heboland

• Chris Vine

Chris Vine - 2010-05-11

Can you explain the problem further?  Do I deduce the situation is as follows:

1. efax-gtk starts OK.
    2. all its dialogs work apart from the "Queued faxes from socket" dialog.  That dialog closes as soon as it is opened.

If you start efax-gtk from konsole and you try to show a "Queued faxes from socket" dialog, what error report (if any) do you get.  If you try to send a fax, what error report do you get, and does it work if you try to send a postscript/PDF file on the file system rather than a print job from the socket?

Chris

• Frank K

Frank K - 2010-05-11

Thanks for the response, Chris,
    Yes efax-gtk starts OK.  From the console starting efax-gtk gets: Socket running on port 7700. From the console, the view queue is persistant - what I wanted. I have been starting efax-gtk from a panel button. Maybe I need to use the "run in a shell" option.