Menu

SQL Pretty Printer

Developers
2006-10-26
2013-04-29
  • Greg Fenton

Greg Fenton - 2006-10-26

I'm looking to write a "SQL Pretty Printer" editor action (which I think would be a useful core feature).

One approach is to write my own hard-coded parser, supporting a preset list of SQL statements and one or two different dialects.  But rather than go down the hard-coded path, I'm wondering if anyone has suggestions as to a more generic way.  I'm new to Eclipse, so I'm not sure if the editor classes in there already have a parser that I can leverage (or if SQLExplorer is already doing this).

Any recommendations and/or pointers to code would be greatly appreciated!

mobiGeek.

• Davy Vanherbergen

Sounds like a good idea.

Here's another possible approach:
      - include an xml configuration file in the core project that covers standard sql
      - allow additional xml configuration files in every one of the extension projects

This way, every extension project could include it's own dialect specific statements.

There is no good parser in the SQL Explorer project, but there must be something out there in the open source world that could be reused.

• Greg Fenton

Greg Fenton - 2006-10-26

What is currently doing the syntax highlighting in the editor?

Where are those SQL keywords defined?

mobiGeek.

• Davy Vanherbergen

net.sourceforge.sqlexplorer.sqleditor.SQLCodeScanner is a good starting point..

• Greg Fenton

Greg Fenton - 2006-10-26

Something like Zql?

http://www.experlog.com/gibello/zql/

mobiGeek.

• John Spackman

John Spackman - 2007-07-19

How far did you get with the parser, mobiGeek?  I want to implement a parser to accurately split the text into individual SQL statements (IE instead of scanning for a character separator), maybe we could collaborate?

John

• Greg Fenton

Greg Fenton - 2007-07-19