Menu

How do you get php/apache to run?

2006-04-20
2013-04-30
  • Nobody/Anonymous

I installed EE-PHP distro and it loads fine. I coded a one-line PHP file (phpinfo();) in a project/file.php. How do I run this thing from within EE? I already have apache2 and php installed. I don't know if EE comes with it's own webserver. When I click 'run' I get a screen for 'perspectives'. Obviously I'm new to Eclipse, but I've used other IDEs before. What is the trick here to run php inside EE.... or can you?

al

• Philippe Ombredanne

To get started with PHPEclipse, you need to set some preferences to tell the plugin where are PHP, Apache and MySQL installed. Note that it is sometimes easier to use the XAMPP control panel for those operations. Go to the menu Window/Preferences then select in the left pane tree :
      PHPEclipse Web Development/PHP External tools to set the PHP executable location
      PHPEclipse Web Development/PHP External tools/Apache to configure the Apache executable location
      PHPEclipse Web Development/PHP External tools/MySQL to configure the MySQL executable location

PHPEclipse Web Development/PHP External tools/XAMPP to configure the XAMPP control panel executable location (if you are using the recommended XAMPP)

PHPEclipse Web Development/PHP/Help to set the location for Windows help for PHP. (That help file comes with PHP on Windows and the XAMPP PHP/Apache distribution )

PHPEclipse Web Development/Project Defaults to set the location for your web documnest and the default URL for all projects. You can override that prefernce for each project by chaning the project specific properties. Once preferences are set, got to the menu Window/Open Perspective and select the PHP Prespective.
      Then create a new PHP Project with the menu File/New ../PHP Project and create a PHP file in that project using the menu File/New../PHP File. Name that file index.php
      Finally, edit the file with the following:

<?php?>
      Hello PHP world!