Menu

DWSIM Simulation Tutorial (Video)

Alex M
2014-09-25
2014-09-27
  • Alex M

Alex M - 2014-09-25

I’m a Chemical Engineer in the process of evaluating DWSIM to see if our company can use it for thermodynamic and material balance calculations. We need to do these from time to time, but the projects are too infrequent to justify acquiring an Aspen license (or something comparable).

I’ve gone through the DWSIM Simulation Tutorial (Parts 1 and 2) here:

http://dwsim.inforside.com.br/wiki/index.php?title=Category%3ATutorials

I realize the tutorials were obviously done on an older version of DWSIM (I’m thinking 2.1), but it bothers me that I can’t get the same results. Thermo should be thermo regardless of software. At the beginning of the Part 1 simulation (just with the separator vessel and pump in place, before implementing the recycle stream) the tutorial shows a liquid flow rate of 1316.9 g/s and vapor flow rate of 8683.1 g/s, vs. 1335.5 g/s liquid and 8664.4 g/s vapor in my simulation.

Now those are not tremendous differences if all I'm trying to do is get a flow rate and size pipe, but the viscosity is a major issue. The tutorial shows a liquid kinematic viscosity of 0.3898 cSt and dynamic viscosity of 0.2489 cP, vs. 0.0054 cSt and 0.0034 cP in my simulation. I can’t come up with a good reason why those would be so far off.

Possibly related, my simulation yields a pump power requirement of 2434 kcal/h, while the tutorial is at only 1311 kcal/h. Given that the stream compositions and mass and volumetric flows are very close, with the exact same pressure difference, I can't understand why the pump power calculation would be so drastically different.