Help save net neutrality! Learn more.
Close

T2-Base and T2-Lite profile basic implementation using CSP

Help
2014-05-21
2014-07-08
  • md.sazzad hossen

Hello every one!

i am new in DVB-T2 CSP but i have already studied all the reference documents and various discussions related to CSP and V&V. Before start using CSP for my work i need to know some information about the capability of CSP because it's not clear to me at all. Is it possible/convenient to use CSP for research work which is not related to any company without any hard ward interface and implementation. For my work i need to calculate the BER for both T2-base profile and T2-Lite profile is it possible in CSP. If i want to use only two plp one plp carry T2-base and another plp carry t2-lite at a same time and then BER calculation, can i do using CSP. if i want to transmit one T2 profile in the FEF part of the other profile and then BER calculation is it possible in CSP. i am new in this platform, your advice and any suggestions will be helpful for me. is there any other software where i can simply simulation DVB-T2 without any hardward interface and implementation just for research work.

i am looking forward to receive from Mr. Oliver Haffenden.

Thanks in advance

• Oliver Haffenden

The CSP is a software simulation and is normally used without any hardware. As you can see from the other threads on this forum, the CSP can indeed be used for simulations of BER against SNR. It's not particularly fast so is only really suitable for simulations down to a BER of about 10^-4. Simulations at lower BERs, such as those reported in the DVB-T2 Implementation Guidelines (TS 102 831), generally make use either of hardware implementations or massively parallel software implementations making use of GPU hardware. The reason for this is that at lower BERs a longer period of time needs to be simulated in order to obtain a statistically significant number of errors and error events.