Menu

EBookDroid(which can read DjVu files) goes closed source

2013-07-07
2024-09-13
  • elrkjghejvnk xvjkdhofiugh

https://code.google.com/p/ebookdroid/

"Since version 2

The EBookDroid become a closed source application.
    All 3d-party GPL code are deleted or moved to separate programs.
    Only Android 3.1+ devices supported.
    Legacy fonts are added back in package and selected by default. "

I'm not aware of any other free DjVu implementation, so I assume they used this one.
    They claim that
    "This software is an aggregation in terms of GNU.
    It contains other standalone binary programs, that executes as separate processes
    and communicates with this software only through OS mechanisms (files).
    Some of that programs are GPL based, some are not.
    Sources of GPL programs can be found on our site."

I'm not a lawyer, this isn't legal advice, and all that, but somehow I doubt the claim that their app is "aggregation".

• Phil Goetz

Phil Goetz - 2018-04-11

This has come up before with other GPL libraries. My understanding of the matter is that the GPL was intended to disallow this, but what counts as a "computer program" and what counts as a "release" is now more complicated than it was when the GPL was written. For instance, if a program calls a GPL library, and the program and that GPL library are both available for download on the same server, and the user interface to that server allows a user to easily download and install both at the same time, how do you distinguish an ftp user interface that is "bundling" from one that is "aggregating"? What if the end-user's OS or package manager sees the dependency and installs the GPL library on its own?

My own strong opinion is that the DjVuLibre team shouldn't be worrying about this, because DjVuLibre shouldn't be GPL. When you're trying to get people to use a standard file format, you should never GPL the code needed to deal with that file format.