I would like to help

Developers
2006-08-29
2013-06-04
  • Jean-Michel_Hautbois

Hi there !
    I am interested in Dirac video codec. I would like to help, but I don't know what I could do...
    I have some experience in H.264 encoding, MPEG-2 decoding, and C programming especially for embedded systems.
    I can help or development, or for algorithmic research, if you want to make a better codec.
    Well, my message is here, I hope I will be helpful.

• Thomas Davies

Thomas Davies - 2006-08-30

That's great!

If you're coming from the video coding angle, then I think improving the encoder speed and performance would be good. The big thing is the motion estimator - we've put quite a lot of work into getting a reasonable algorithm, but it's still quite slow and doesn't perform so well at low bit rates.

One idea I've been mulling on is adapting the motion estimator from the x264 implementation to work with Dirac, because that seems to be much faster and hold on much better at low bit rates. That would mean changing from fixed block sizes to variable sizes and overlapping blocks but the basic search algorithm should go through fine. Dirac has far fewer block modes to search so that would be simpler.

Another thing is global motion estimation. I need to finalise this in the specification, but we need to have a good estimator, maybe from a pixel-by-pixel motion field. We have a branch in the code which does global motion estimation from the block motion vectors, but it doesn't work very well.

Then there's improving the choice of quantiser in the wavelet coefficient coding. We don't have a good implementation for multi-quantiser coding of code blocks (we split the subbands up into code blocks and you can either have a single quantiser for all the blocks in a band, or one for each block).

what do you think?

regards

Thomas

• Jean-Michel_Hautbois

Well, I think that is interesting :).