Menu

Debugging and Compilation Help Needed

2010-03-24
2013-03-06
  • edward_silicon

edward_silicon - 2010-03-24

Hello,

I'd like to help identify and troubleshoot some of the bugs that I am encountering on Windows 7 x64, but I have zero experience with Delphi projects.  Do the developers have any documentation that steps through the compilation process (including software and versions needed to build)?  I've read the _How to compile DBDesigner4.txt file distributed with the source code but it seems to be a bit old.  I tried following these instructions with the Delphi 2010 trial version I just downloaded to see if I could build the software and try to debug some "access violation" errors I am getting.  Unfortunately I get quite a few errors when attempting to build and get nowhere.  Will this software only build with Delphi 7?  How about building with the open source Lazarus IDE?

Best regards,

Sam

• Joao Paulo Schwarz Schuler

Dear Sam,
    thanks for trying to compile. But you need Delphi 7 for it. It does not compile in newer versions of Delphi. With Delphi 7 Professional or Kylix 3 (the paid version) should be very simple to compile (from the SVN source code). We tried to port twice from Delphi 7 and we gave up twice. It may be the case that we haven't tried enough.

In the case you want to port to Lazarus, I wish you all the luck.

Kind regards, JP.

• edward_silicon

edward_silicon - 2010-03-26

Hi JP,

Thanks for the quick reply on my question.  Your response certainly cleared things up for me.  Unfortunately I can't really afford to purchase a copy of Delphi 7 right now to build the software.  Plus, that version of Delphi seems to be getting harder and harder to find for purchase.