Menu

mkisofs remaster iso after syslinux.cfg edits

Help
Dave
2010-06-23
2013-05-21
  • Dave

Dave - 2010-06-23

I'm using DBAN to nuke a stack of drives I've accumulated. I've altered the default options to my liking in syslinux.cfg and want to rebuild the bootable .iso. No joy so far. Working in XP but could use a linux live CD if required.

I've exploded the .iso with 7zip, made my edits, and am now trying to rebuild the .iso with Win32 mkisofs. Must have an option out of whack as I can't quite get it to boot post edits.

Suggestions, a mkisofs command line, or other advice welcome.

Thanks in advance.

D.

• Luke-LCSD

Luke-LCSD - 2010-07-19

I've been toying with this as well, with no luck. I'm far from an expert on mkisofs, but the last thing I tried was copying the img into the root and deleting the catalog, then running this command line to create the ISO:

mkisofs -no-emul-boot -b Bootable_NoEmulation.img -c ISOLINUX.CAT -o dban226.iso

Output:

I: -input-charset not specified, using utf-8 (detected in locale settings)
    Size of boot image is 4 sectors -> No emulation
     94.11% done, estimate finish Mon Jul 19 09:36:39 2010
    Total translation table size: 2048
    Total rockridge attribute bytes: 0
    Total directory bytes: 530
    Path table size(bytes): 10
    Max brk space used 0
    5317 extents written (10 MB)

Due to it not being urgent, I think I'm just going to document and hang it up until the surplus we love to use DBAN on requires i586. Maybe it needs a -r for rockridge(like the 1.0.7 modification) after -b to work correctly.

Hopefully this helps,
    Luke

• Luke-LCSD

Luke-LCSD - 2010-07-19

Oh, I forgot to mention. This method produces this while booting:

ISOLINUX 4.00 4.00-pre46 ETCDisolinux: Image checksum error, sorry...
    Boot failed: press a key to retry...

While a vanilla iso boots to the prompt.

• Dave

Dave - 2010-07-19