Wiipot - demo app for the wiimote.

2006-12-20
2013-05-23
  • Jasen Jacobsen

Jasen Jacobsen - 2006-12-20

Using Quartz Composer and the Wiimote.framework I whipeed up a little demo app.
    You get to control a teapot!  Wow.

The D-pad, A, -, home, and + buttons do things.

http://members.cox.net/jasenj1/wiimote/Wiipot.zip

- Jasen.

P.S. Now that GlovePie figured out the nunchuk, time to incorporate it into Darwiin!

• Nobody/Anonymous

i've got a powerbook 15" an i can't get this teapot thing to work ^^
      maybe it's not for PPC? ... oh, i'm a god damn noob :P
      alex

• Jasen Jacobsen

Jasen Jacobsen - 2006-12-21

"can't get this teapot thing to work" meaning it won't start?  Or the window appears but you can't figure out what to do after that?

When the app opens, you should see the main window - with the teapot.  You should be able to use the dial controls and the sliders to mess with the teapot.

Push the "Sync with Wiimote" button and put your Wiimote into sync mode (push "1" and "2", the LEDs will blink),  after a few seconds the spinner should go away and one LED on the Wiimote should stay lit.  Now you can use the D-pad and "+", "-", "home" keys to mess with the teapot.  If it won't sync (I've seen this happen) go into your Bluetooth preferences and delete any "Nintendo" entries, then try again.

I've run the program on a Mac mini (PPC), MacBook Pro (Intel), and my iMac (Intel), all with OS X 10.4.x and XCode installed.  Maybe it doesn't work with older versions of the OS, or you need XCode?

Thanks for the feedback.  Please let me know how far you get so I can try to figure out where the problem is.

- Jasen.

• Nobody/Anonymous

On my powerbook, (with xcode and latest version of OS) it opens and then closes if you double click on it.  So I can't get to any later stage.

• Jasen Jacobsen

Jasen Jacobsen - 2006-12-21

Hmm... Can you get DarwiinRemote to work?  I'm wondering if you have the Wiimote.framework installed. (Grasping for straws.)