Menu

Add a dew heater?

Taylor J
2024-08-27
2024-08-28
  • Taylor J

Taylor J - 2024-08-27

I played around with it a little bit.
    I attached a sample Arduino program with dew control inputs/outputs and a function added to your program. I probably didn't integrate it perfectly as I have never written anything for ASCOM before, but its a starting point.

Added a DHT22 sensor (ambient conditions) to pin 8, PWM 12v MOSFET heater control to pin 3, and a DS18B20 temp sensor (for the heating element behind the flat panel for PWM control) to pin 4.

• Nathan Woelfle

Nathan Woelfle - 2024-08-28

Hi Taylor,

Overall, yes, the idea is "relatively easy" to add to the project. I’ve considered adding a flexible heating element, similar to the one you referenced, and it’s something I was planning to investigate in the future. I’ve been focused on software updates and finalizing a couple of PCB designs for the current iteration, so I haven’t had the chance to test the warmth of EL panels to determine if it'll offer any benefit. Over the last five years, I haven’t seen a need for it, but it may depend on the climate a person is in. Regardless, I’d be more than happy to work with you to include an optional heater in the DLC.