Menu

server does not see client

Help
moh
2006-09-17
2020-04-20
  • moh

moh - 2006-09-17

Hello, I am new to all this. I am testing the software using 2 computers - 1 server and 1 client. I have set up the server and created and client account. But the client computer indicates:

server address: searching..
    connection state: connecting

When I click activate, the admin window pops ip. However, the "activate" button stays greyed and I can not activate the client. What I am doing wrong?

• Samuel Monsarrat

Are you running a firewall on the server and the client ? if so try disableing it and try again.

Sam.

• iamdude

iamdude - 2006-10-25

hello. this is my first post. i have been using cybera 1.9rc2 for the past 4 months now and haven't had any major problems. my server and clients are running windows xp home edition.

I have encountered the same problem. So the solution to this was to permit internet access to both the server and the client. Furthermore, I set the client to manually connect to the server.

Hope this helps.

PJ

• Kainz

Kainz - 2006-11-22

Hi!

I have the same problem (with 1.9rc3) and would need urgent help, because the cyber cafe should open next monday (27.Nov.06).

The PC's (WinXP Home) can see each other, are in a workgroup, can share drives and printers, can ping each other (name an IP, so name resolution is o.k.), but the clients can not connect to the server:
      I tried manual and automtic connect.

Can someone please help?

Thanks
      Stefan

• Samuel Monsarrat

Sorry for the delay in this reply.
        First Cybera can work with XP home but user rights will not be locked down, you need XP pro for this.
        If you cannot get the workstations to connect to the server manually then there must be something blocking Cybera on the server, such as a firewall, make sure that cybera server is allowed to listen to TCP port 4646.

Sam.

• Kainz

Kainz - 2006-12-03

Thanks it works now.