How do I use ComPort

Help
2012-04-05
2013-04-30
  • Kevin Quach

Kevin Quach - 2012-04-05

Hi All,

I'm new to Delphi and ComPort so I don't know much about anything.

I'm currently using Delphi 2010 and I just installed the latest version of ComPort (I think).

I know I can drag and drop a ComPort Component because I've already tried that but after that I have no idea what to do next.

I have an application at the moment connected to an Access database and I want to get numbers from the database, compact everything to a define data packet and send that to an external hardware.

I'll also need to recieve a specific data packet of already defined structure and extract information from that packet.

Is there and specific functions or informations that I can read to help me better understand what I need to do. I know you want provide code because I haven't provided anything so I'm not expecting much.

I just want to know where to look for what I need to do to complete my task.

Thanks in advance

• Stephen Gaunt

Stephen Gaunt - 2012-04-05

If the data packets are of a defined length, then I would use a packet reciver (on the com port pallet) to grab the incomming messages. If the incoming messages have a fixed first character (delimiter) then yoiu can tell tyhe pack Receiver about this and the expected length, link the packet receiver to the comport component.
    The packet receiver has a method OnPacket the recieves the incoming packet in Str: string; uise tis to perform the required manipulation on the data (finding commas that sort of thing)

Writing I use a line like this:-
       Cport.Write(Txbuff, L + 2);

TxBuff is an array (of byte in this case), I load it with the data to be sent, L is the number of bytes to send
    e.g part of my GPS message simulator application..

1,2: begin //  GPS
               L := length(TxString);
               if not (L in ) then
                 L := 93;
               SizeBox.Text := inttostr(L);