Menu

Misc Questions/Issues

Help
2008-09-11
2013-05-20
  • Dennis Taylor

Dennis Taylor - 2008-09-11

I've been working quite a lot with the com0com driver.  Its mostly been great - thanks!  There are a few minor things we've discovered and could use some help on.

1) We've found that writes to a COM0COM port when the partner is down does not behave the same as a real serial port.    An application (really an OLE COM component) that we don't control expects writes to complete normally (returning good rc and n bytes written).  com0com completes the first write (very first) like a real port does but subsequent writes timeout and return 0 bytes written.  The app doesn't use hardware flow control and pays no attention to modem status.  A real port essentially transmits to nowhere and completes the writes.  This is our biggest issue.  I'm a driver programmer and could take a stab at fixing this myself, but com0com isn't trivial and I wonder if this is something that would be easy to fix for you and if you'd be willing to fix it. 

2) Trying to work around the first issue, we tried using PluginMode for the port that the app opens.  This worked on Windows XP and Server 2003 but it doesn't work on Windows 2000 Server with terminal server.   I'm pretty sure that the problem is with the fact that ShowPort() runs in the context of the pnp manager (system) and that the symbolic link is created in the global namespace instead of the local namespace.   This is a documented fluke in how windows 2000 works.   I haven't tried, but I think adding a call to IoCreateSymbolicLink from the open routine (if running windows 2000) would fix the problem.  Also, the link would need to be removed in the close routine.

3) What level of Windows DDK do you use?  I'd feel a lot safer if I could first build a matching driver to the one you build.  Everything I've tried builds and runs but something is significantly different -> my checked builds come out smaller than your supplied binaries.