Pocketsphinx and Phoneme extraction

Help
2014-05-17
2014-05-30
  • David Boccabella

Hi. Please be gentle as I am a programmer but C is not my strong point :) I can work with Python thou.

I have recently downloaded Jasper (Pocketsphinx based application) onto my RPi and it may be a solution for a long term project I am working on. If someone can help me then I am willing to renumerate them.

I do special effects as a hobby with an interest in animatronics and full body costume work. I will use a werewolf costume for my example.

The costume has been build so that the head is more akin to a wolf's head rather than say a Lon Chanley style head (what I call a Were-Pug). The muzzle has several servos that can deform the lips and also to move the tongue.

In general movie production these servo movements would be preprogrammed so that the character could talk and seem to enunciate the words. However...

If the character was interacting ad-hoc with the public then that would not be possible.

So.. using a microphone the actor inside the suit can talk. As they talk an application listens and then extracts the phonemes from the stream. These phonemes are then sent into a translation table which converts them into servo positioning co-ordinates and then to the servos.

The effect being that when the character talks his lips give an approximation of the right kind of movements to pronounce the words.

Accuracy is not paramount here.. I am not looking to fine tune it to the point where one can lip-read. I just want to get a general look to add realism to the character, and something more than just the jaw opening and closing.

I just need a stream of phonemes coming from the application. I have looked at the file dictionery.dic so I can see how the words are broken up.