Menu

Cannot enter data into forms after upgrade

Help
2016-06-05
2016-07-09
  • John O'Donnell

John O'Donnell - 2016-06-05

Hi,
    I have been running for many years on Version 2.03 beta 6 and am trying to upgrade to Version 2.03 beta 8 by restoring the database on the new server and installing the new software version.
    It's mostly OK but when I add a new member I cannot enter new data into the forms (DOB, Address etc.). I seem to be able to edit existing fields for existing members though. Although I cannot add new data to empty fields even for existing members.

I had to apt-get install php-pear as this was not already there, I couldn't see any configuration requirements.

I had to copy the javascript files from /Clubdata2/javascript to /usr/share/javascript as my php installation was pointing there, so I was getting 404 errors ....

I have tried using root MySQL user rather than clubdata to rule out privilege problems, but makes no difference.

I am assuming that it is a local environmental issue, as nobody else seems to have reported any issues .......

I have noticed that some of the code still seems to use calls to mysql_ rather than mysqli_ (or that's how it appears to a novice whilst doing a scan of the php files)
    /Clubdata2/Tools/formsgeneration/form_mysql_linked_select.php:26:
    /Clubdata2/Tools/formsgeneration/form_mysql_linked_select.php:51:

/Clubdata2/Tools/formsgeneration/form_mysql_auto_complete.php:45:

/Clubdata2/Tools/formsgeneration/test_metabase_linked_select.php:26:
    /Clubdata2/Tools/formsgeneration/test_metabase_linked_select.php:51:

But I imagine if this were the problem it would fail for everybody ....

Any suggestions welcomed :-D

John

Database: MySQL 5.5.49-0ubuntu0.14.04.1

System: Linux webserver.bibc.co.uk 3.13.0-87-generic #133-Ubuntu SMP Tue May 24 18:32:09 UTC 2016 x86_64

PHP: 5.5.9-1ubuntu4.17

• John O'Donnell

John O'Donnell - 2016-06-05