Fatal Error: $_SESSION['sURLPath'] is empty.

Help
JimBerlin
2013-12-14
2015-06-08
  • JimBerlin

JimBerlin - 2013-12-14

This is my first try at logging into churchinfo after installing it.

When I entered the correct user name and password, this message appeared:

Can anyone tell me what I need to do now?

Thanks

• JimBerlin

JimBerlin - 2013-12-15

Problem Solved!

• stlouisubntu

stlouisubntu - 2014-02-15

Hey friend! I am really glad you solved the problem. Would you please share how you solved your problem. My pastor reported seeing the exact same error message.

Thanks.

• Michael Wilt

Michael Wilt - 2014-02-20

This is typically caused by a problem with the PHP installation. The session data is stored on the server and problems like this arise if the location that PHP thinks it should be using does not exist or is not writable. If this is your own server, you can get a start debugging by looking at phpinfo(). If you don't have an easy way to see this make a little php file in your htdocs directory and browse to it:
    <?php
    phpinfo();
    ?>

Mike

Michael Wilt
    ChurchInfo Team Leader

• Michael Wilt

Michael Wilt - 2014-02-20

I just looked in the other forum and found an easier potential issue:
    https://sourceforge.net/p/churchinfo/discussion/401179/thread/769cae04/

The root path set in Include/Config.php must point to the churchinfo installation with respect to the root path on your server, typically the htdocs directory. For example, the default value of "/churchinfo" works if you unpack the distribution into the "churchinfo" directory under htdocs. I have seen problems if the distribution is unpacked into the htdocs directory (without a churchinfo subdirectory), or if the distribution is unpacked into churchinfo/churchinfo. Either of these is surprisingly easy to do.

Mike

Michael Wilt
    ChurchInfo Team Leader

• David Both

David Both - 2015-05-29

I am just getting started with this new installation and am having the same problem.